Back to list

NSWGCSA honours its finest

Tuesday 29, Oct 2019

The Australian Sports Turf Managers Association (ASTMA) wishes to congratulate all NSWGCSA winners announced at last week’s NSW Golf Industry Awards dinner.

The NSW association handed out four awards as part of the industry gala night held at Curzon Hall, with Pambula Merimbula Golf Club course superintendent Pat Wilson collecting the coveted Outstanding Achievement Award, presented by Living Turf.

The Lakes Golf Club superintendent Anthony Mills, who successfully hosted the 2018 Emirates Australian Open last November, was bestowed the association’s Superintendent of the Year Award, presented in conjunction with Australian Turf Projects. For their efforts, both Wilson and Mills win a trip to an international turf conference.

Northbridge Golf Club’s Brendan Brown took home the Outstanding Performance and Dedication Award, sponsored by WaterWise, and received a trip to next year’s Sports Turf Management and Golf Business Conference & Trade Exhibition in Melbourne. Gunnedah Golf Club’s Angus Beasley will also be heading to the Melbourne conference after being adjudged the NSWGCSA Graduate of the Year, presented in partnership with JT Turf. Beasley will contest the national final of the ASTMA’s Graduate of the Year Award next June, but before that will head to Singapore where he will be a volunteer at Sentosa Golf Club for its major tournament in January.

A total of 21 outstanding individuals and organisations were honoured on the night which brought together Golf NSW, Jack Newton Junior Golf, the NSWGCSA, GMA NSW, the ALPG and the PGA of Australia (NSW/ACT Division) to celebrate the best contributions made to the sport during the past 12 months. Two of NSW golf's finest prospects, Blake Windred and Grace Kim were named 2019 Golf NSW’s Male and Female Athletes of the Year.

The Country Golf Club of the Year went to Nelson Bay Golf Club, home to course superintendent Greg Stynes. A popular venue for many visitors and members, the club has bounced back after a severe fire destroyed the clubhouse in 2015. The Metropolitan Club of the Year Award went to Lakeside Golf Club Camden (superintendent Dean Hopper), which has embarked on a significant rebuild with six new greens and four new holes designed by the Greg Norman Group.

Pictured top: Pat Wilson and NSWGCSA president Nathan Bradbury. Middle: Brendan Brown and Angus Beasley. Bottom: Anthony Mills. Photos courtesy of Golf NSW