About the National Turf Education Working Group (NTWEG)

The National Turf Education Working Group was formed in 2003 following the National Turf Education Forum held during the 19th Australian Turfgrass Conference in Adelaide. The working group has over the years included industry leaders such as Scott Mackay, Graeme Logan, John Odell, Adam Robertson and Daryl Sellar as well as legendary teachers such as Phil Ford, Frank Dempsey,  Brian Dale, Steve Dargy, Garry Dawson and Peter Le Riche.


The groups major focus is to monitor the educational pathway within the turf industry and make recommendations to Agrifoods on all issues affecting the pathway and its delivery. It is hoped the committee will increase communication between all parties and work towards creating a greater level of national consistency. To date The National Education Working Group has produced a number of resources for students as well as Delivery and Assessment Guides to aid RTOs deliver the Turf Apprenticeship to a National Minimum endorsed by Industry Associations across Australia.


We are constantly looking for suggestions and issues regarding education that the industry in general feels needs to be addressed. The group is scheduled to meet quarterly and is happy to address any issues or concerns brought to it. The following representatives make up the National Education Working Group.


National Turf Education Working Group Representatives
  • Simone Staples (A.S.T.M.A.)

  • Bruce Davies (C.I.T. ACT)

  • Albert Sherry (Kurri TAFE)

  • Wade Turner (NSWBGA/Queanbeyan B.C.)

  • John Forrest (WAGCSA/ STA WA) 

  • Mark Schroder (NSWGCSA/Liverpool G. C)

  • Damien Curtis (STA, NSW)

  • Hugh Gardner (STA VIC, Co-Chair

  • Glenn Moreland (Wodonga TAFE)

  • Garry McClymont (GCSAQ /Twin Waters G.C).

  • John Hagan (QLD TAFE)

  • Ian Clarke (TAFE NSW)

  • Chris Deppeler (Gordon TAFE)

  • Gary Lee (TAFE North, QLD)



The National Education Working Group has produced Delivery and Assessment Guides to aid RTOs deliver the turf apprenticeship to a national minimum standard that is endorsed and supported by industry associations across Australia.

For further thoughts on the NTEWG, read Albert Sherry (Kurri TAFE) article on Furthering Australian Turf Education


Delivery and Assessment Guides

Delivery and Assessment Guides can be downloaded here for:






Preferred Providers

Turf management education in Australia is delivered through the TAFE system with the institutions listed below conducting recognised turf management programmes endorsed by the National Turf Education Working Group.

The Australian turf management apprenticeship system is regarded the world over as one of the best in producing competent and highly skilled practitioners, with many going on to become industry leaders. Through the efforts of the National Turf Education Working Group, of which the AGCSA acts as secretariat, Australian apprentices can be guaranteed of the best possible start in the industry. To find out more about the respective TAFEs nearest to you and the various turf management courses they offer, please contact the following:


ACT   Western Australia

Canberra Institute of Technology

Contact: Bruce Davies 
Email: bruce.davies@cit.act.edu.au
Phone: (02) 6207 4623
Website: http://cit.edu.au


South Metropolitan TAFE

Contact: Wayne Miller
Email: wayne.miller@smtafe.wa.edu.au  
Phone: 08 9229 8420
Website: www.challenger.wa.edu.au 

Queensland   Tasmania

Brisbane North Institute TAFE (Grovely)

Contact: John Hagan
Email: john.hagan@tafe.qld.edu.au
Phone: (07) 3354 5562
Website: http://bn.tafe.qld.gov.au

TAFE North 

Contact: Gary Lee
Email: gary.lee@tafe.qld.edu.au
Phone: (07) 4750 5424
Website: http://tafenorth.edu.au/


Tas TAFE (Clarence Campus) 

Contact: Richard Lancaster
Email: richard.j.lancaster@tastafe.tas.edu.au
Phone: 1300 655 307
Website: www.tastafe.tas.edu.au  

Victoria   New South Wales


Melbourne Polytechnic (Fairfield Campus) formally NMIT

Contact: Mark Burchell
Email: markburchell@melbournepolytechnic.edu.au
Phone: (03) 9269 8837
Website: http://www.melbournepolytechnic.edu.au

Holmesglen TAFE (Melbourne)

Contact: Grant Prichard
Email: grant.pritchard@holmesglen.edu.au
Phone: 0411 091 826
Website: www.holmesglen.edu.au  

The Gordon (Geelong)

Contact: Chris Deppeler
Email: cdeppeler@gordontafe.edu.au
Phone: 0439 336 771
Website: www.thegordon.edu.au 

Wodonga TAFE 

Contact: Mick Dove
Email: mdove@wodongatafe.edu.au
Phone: 0478 486 606
Website: www.wodongatafe.edu.au



 TAFE NSW – Hunter Institute, Kurri Kurri Campus

Contact: Albert Sherry
Email: albert.sherry@tafensw.edu.au
Phone: (0
2) 4936 0215
Website: www.hunter.tafensw.edu.au 

TAFE NSW – NSI Ryde College (Sydney northern suburbs)

Ian Clarke
Email: ian.g.clarke@tafensw.edu.au 
Phone: (02) 9448 6321
Website: www.nsi.tafensw.edu.au


TAFE NSW – North Coast TAFE, Wollongbar

Contact: Greg Hollihan
Email: greg.holihan@tafensw.edu.au
Phone: 02 6620 4700
Website: http://northcoast.tafensw.edu.au  





For further information about the National Turf Education Working Group, contact ASTMA Education Manager Simone Staples on (03) 9548 8600 or simone@agcsa.com.au