Claude Crockford Sustainability & Environmental Award

Claude Crockford Sustainability & Environmental Award


Presented in partnership with


In these times of heightened environmental awareness and regulation, the ASTMA Claude Crockford Sustainability & Environmental Award, sponsored by Syngenta, takes on great significance. With sportsfields, grounds and golf courses now under increasing public and legislative scrutiny, environmental management and responsibility has become a primary concern for the modern day sports turf manager.

The man who this award is named after was a champion of sustainability and the environment, and the legacy Claude Crockford left at Royal Melbourne Golf Club continues in this award which recognises excellence in environmental management at sports & recreation facilities.

This award has become one of the most sought after at the annual presentation ceremony and always attracts a highly competitive field of nominees. Winning the ASTMA Claude Crockford Sustainability & Environmental Award provides a huge fillip for the turf manager and his or her crew, and is something that the entire club can take pride in.


The winner of the Claude Crockford award will be bestowed a bursary of $5000 that may be used toward further education or an ASTMA approved study tour.


Nominees for the ASTMA Claude Crockford Environmental Award must work within an organisation that employs a current ASTMA member. Nominations will be accepted from ASTMA members, club representatives, industry consultants and allied industry bodies.  All valid nominations will be judged individually by members of the ASTMA Board with input from independent industry experts as required.

Judging Criteria

  • Demonstrate the commitment to the protection of the existing natural environment, environmental best practice and environmental stewardship.

  • Description of the current course/facility environs.

  • Description of the overall objective for environmental change.

  • Demonstrate the commitment to land management and sustainability.

  • Demonstrate the process being undertaken to protect native flora and fauna and the protection of environmentally-sensitive areas.

  • Engaging the community


The ASTMA accepts nominations for the Claude Crockford Award all year round and you can do this by filling out the nomination form below
























Past Recipients

2020: Cameron Hall (Kew Golf Club, pictured)
2019: Bivek Inderjeeth (Eastern Golf Club)
2018: Jason Lavender (Riverlakes Golf Club)
2017: Peter Watts (Muirfield Golf Club, NSW)
2016: Andy Wood (Kauri Cliffs, NZ, pictured)
2015: Nick Kinley (Hartfield Country Club, WA)
2014: Not awarded
2013: NSW Golf Course Superintendents Association
2012: Steve Marsden, Cape Kidnappers, NZ
2011: Troy MacLaren, Kabi Organic Golf Course, QLD
2010: Jodie Grainger (Yering Meadows, VIC)
2009: Andrew Smith (Yamba Golf & Country Club, NSW)
2008: Kenton Boyd (Magenta Shores Golf & Country Club, NSW)
2007: Stuart Moore (Southport Golf Club, QLD)
2006: Peter Donkers (Long Reef Golf Club, NSW)
2005: Scott McKay (North Lakes Golf Club, QLD) and Ben Marshall (Club Pelican, QLD)
2004: David Warwick (Avondale Golf Club, NSW)
2003: Spiros Skaftouros (Growling Frog Golf Club, VIC) and Darren Watson (Horizons Golf Club, NSW)
2002: Jeff Austen (El Caballo, WA)
2001: Andrew Baker (Sanctuary Cove Golf Resort, QLD)
2000: Ben Tilley (Beerwah Golf Club, QLD)
1999: Mick Russell (Werribee Park Golf Club, VIC)
1998: Kevin Wellard (Nelson Bay Golf Club, NSW)
1997: Jon Penberthy (Gainsborough Greens Golf Club, QLD)
1996: Rodney Fenton (Queenscliff Golf Club, VIC)


Claude Crockford Nomination Form