AGCSA Graduate of the Year Award

With the rise of dedicated turf education courses in recent times, the calibre of graduates increases from year to year, which makes this award one of the most difficult to judge. The AGCSA Graduate of the Year Award is special in that it gives an indication of where the future of the industry lies. Today's recipients will be tomorrow's superintendents and turf managers and will ultimately go on to play a major role in the development and direction of golf course maintenance in this country.

For the lucky graduate, the award provides a huge boost, helping to launch their career in the best possible way. And with Toro coming on board as award sponsor in 2004, a lucrative education package also goes the way of the winner.

Selection Criteria

The structure of the AGCSA Graduate of the Year Award changed in 2004 and now nominees come directly from the individual state associations' graduate awards programs. To be eligible, students must have graduated from their studies in the previous 12 months.

In deciding upon who wins national honours, the judging panel will consider the graduate's academic achievements, career aspirations, ambassadorial skills and how winning the award will assist the graduate in meeting their career ambitions.  

All finalists will be judged by an independent panel consisting of golf course superintendents and TAFE teachers. The finalists will be required to give a 15-20 minute presentation and take 10 minutes of questions from the judging panel.

Past Recipients

2017: Joel Manson (Anglesea Golf Club, Vic, pictured)
2016: William Koopmans (Ballarat Golf Club, Vic)
2015: Alex Smith (Royal Military College Golf Club, Duntroon, ACT)
2014: Ethan Bell (Wangaratta Golf Club, Vic)
2013: Luke Jorgensen (Federal Golf Club, ACT)
2012: Dave Canterbury (Kiama Golf Club, NSW)
2011: Dan Oswin (Novotel Forest Resort, VIC)
2010: Adam Shields (Casino Golf Club, NSW)
2009: Wade Williams (Federal Golf Club, ACT)
2008: Chris Thompson (Maclean Golf Club, NSW)
2007: Peter Beach (Gosnells Golf Club, WA)
2006: Sean Kinsley (Yamba Golf Club, NSW)
2005: Damien Bell (Wellington Golf Club, NSW)
2004: Craig Webley (Lakelands Country Club, WA)
2003: James Dalton (13th Beach Golf Club, VIC)
2002: Glenn Dawson (Federal Golf Club, ACT)
2001: Scott Carruthers (Pennant Hills Golf Club, NSW)
2000: Brett Barsby (Royal Queensland Golf Club, QLD)
1999: Stephen Heskett (Federal Golf Club, ACT)
1998: Jason Garbutt (Camden Golf Club, NSW)
1997: Ian Johnstone (Steelworks Golf Club, NSW)
1996: Jason Blacka (Bermagui Country Club, NSW)

AGCSA Partner Recognition Program