AGCSA Excellence in Golf Course Management Award

The AGCSA Excellence in Golf Course Management Award is always hotly contested. Launched in 2001, this award has taken over the proud tradition of the previous AGCSA Fellowship Award. The name has been refined and selection criteria adjusted to make it more suited to the modern golf course management industry. This in no way diminishes the achievements of past winners, but recognises the ever changing parameters that superintendents work within.

As the name suggests, this award aims to recognise a superintendent for achieving excellence in golf course management within the past two years, whether it be in the management and presentation of the course or a reconstruction project. Previous winners of the award include a who's who of the Australian golf course maintenance industry.  Nominations received for AGCSA Excellence in Golf Course Management Award will now remain active for two years.

The winner of the Excellence in Golf Course Management Award will be bestowed a bursary of $5000 that may be used toward further education or an AGCSA approved study tour. 

Nominees for the AGCSA Excellence in Golf Course Management Award must be current AGCSA superintendent members. Nominations will be accepted from AGCSA members, club representatives, industry consultants and allied industry bodies.  All valid nominations will be judged individually by members of the AGCSA Board with input from independent industry experts as required.

In no less than 1000 words please detail how the nominee has displayed excellence in golf course management. An accompanying dossier, portfolio or photographic presentation supporting the nomination should also be included. Please make sure nominations address all aspects of the judging criteria.

Judging Criteria

  • Commitment to excellence
  • Description of the programme and objectives prior to implementation
  • Description of the changed maintenance techniques, new innovations or construction
  • Community Engagement
  • Description of outcomes for the course upon completion of works
  • Extent of knowledge of turfgrass management techniques.

The AGCSA accepts nominations for the Excellence in Golf Course Management Award all year round. Please fill in the form below and click submit.

Past Recipients
Phil Soegaard (Lakelands Golf Club, Qld, pictured)
2016: Mick McCombe (Maleny Golf Club, Qld)
2015: Simon Bourne (Cottesloe Golf Club, WA)
2014: Shaun Cross (Byron Bay Golf Club, NSW)
2013: Michael Bradbery (Manly Golf Club)
2012: Ben Tilley (Headland Golf Club, QLD)
2011: Colin Morrison (Flinders Golf Club, VIC)
2010: David Warwick (Avondale Golf Club, NSW)
2009: Andy Hugill (Mona Vale Golf Club, NSW)
2008: Mark Jennings (Box Hill Golf Club, VIC)
2007: Darren Wilson (Wembley Golf Complex, WA)
2006: Daryl Sellar (Glenelg Golf Club, SA)
2005: Darren Jones (St. Michael’s Golf Club, NSW)
2004: Peter Schumacher (Elanora Golf Club, NSW)
2003: Idris Evans (Western Australian Golf Club, WA)
2002: Gary Bass (Croydon Golf Club, VIC)
2001: Mark Gahan (The Dunes/13th Beach Golf Club, VIC)
2000: Allan Devlin (Secret Harbour Golf Club, WA)*
1999: Pat Pauli (Horton Park Golf Club, QLD)*
1998: Wayne Marland (Port Kembla Golf Club, NSW)*
1997: John Geary (Frankston Golf Club)*
1996: Jeff Lane (Gosnells Golf Club, WA)*
1995: Jeff Gambin (Gold Coast Burleigh Golf Club)*
1994: Richard Forsyth (Murray Downs Golf Club, NSW)*
1993: Trevor Strachan (The Vines Resort, WA)*
1992: Darren Cribbes (Kingswood Golf Club, VIC)*
1991: Gary Dempsey (New South Wales Golf Club, NSW)*
1990: Greg Smith (Pambula-Merimbula Golf Club, NSW)*
* Between 1990 and 2000 the award was known as the AGCSA Fellowship Award

Nominee Details
Proposer's Details

Either the proposer or the seconder MUST be a current golf course superintendent member of the AGCSA and will be contacted to confirm the nomination.

Supporting Information

Please indicate below what material you will be forwarding/submitting as accompanying information to support this nomination.


Please complete the following four questions as comprehensively as possible.

1000 Words

You can use this section to provide additional information to the questionnaire above or to give a comprehensive outline of how nominee fits the key award criteria.


For those submitting photos, management templates or other such supporting documentation, we recommend that you send them either on USB, disc or as a bound full colour document for the judging panel to assess.

AGCSA Partner Recognition Program